Science Fiction

Standard

After reading a list of Books For People Who Like Space on BluChickenNinja‘s blog, I realized I’ve downloaded more sci-fi ebooks than I’ll be able to use in my whole life, but haven’t had the time to read them yet. I would like to add a few favourites of mine to Emma’s list. I noticed some classics of the genre were missing, and I also have others to recommend although maybe they’re not not strictly science fiction.

My suggested reads:

  • Beyond the Fall of Night by Arthur C. Clarke, Gregory Benford

I’ve read this novel eons ago, so maybe it’s time to re-read it. The last survivors of the human race are exiled in a small enclave. Only one child was born in several thousand years, and he’s dying to find out what’s outside the city walls.

  • Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury

This one is definitely a must-read for space addicts. It’s a collection of short stories that make you think, from the author of Farenheit 451.

  • The Foundation series by Isaac Asimov

I’m cheating, I confess. I haven’t read it yet. I remember a couple short stories from my early student days, and I definitely have to read the works of this huge author by this year.

  • At the Mountains of Madness by H. P. Lovecraft

This is a horror novella rather than a sci-fi novel, and it’s written in a Poe-like literary style, but some evil, mysterious beings from outer space are lurking amid the ruins of an ancient and apparently abandoned city in Anctartica. The suspence blew me away.

  • Under the Skin by Michel Faber

Don’t expect massive starships, warp speed and space battles. Here, alien colonization is intermixed with another major theme: vegetarianism. A horrible film has been made out of it by Jonathan Glazer starring Scarlett Johansson. The novel is much more enjoyable than the movie.

Have you read these five? What else could you recommend in the science fiction genre? I have access to a wide selection of books, but I don’t know where to start.

6 thoughts on “Science Fiction

  1. Can recommend the Riverworld series by Philip Jose Farmer – as well as his Dayworld Series.
    Also The Gap Series by Stephen R Donaldson.
    And of course the classic! Dune – Fran Herbert

Leave a Reply

