Stuff

Standard
Embed from Getty Images

I’m growing aware
of that suffocating feeling
when all the gadgets in the world
are piling up in your apartment.

Books, pots, pans, socks, DVD’s and jackets.
Hairy blankets, doormats, bills and furniture.
Toiletries, detergents, winter tyres, leads and cables.
Leftovers and plastic lids.
All those electronics you bought against my veto.
Screwdrivers, framed pictures, hardware, bits and pieces.
I’m overwhelmed by stuff.

If owning things is so important,
why won’t anyone take away this burden then?
I barter my belongings for some genuine
time and space.
Come on, what has become of the materialistic society?
Possession is overestimated.

I’ll have to burn the house down.

15 thoughts on “Stuff

  1. I totally agree with you and all the comments so far! Oh, one man’s treasure….. Would anyone want some of my treasures…? 🙂

  2. Back when my home was filled with the clutter and collections of four children, I can remember almost wishing someone would blow it up. Thankfully, it didn’t happen. Instead, I slowly managed to get rid of what wasn’t mine and what I no longer needed. Now, I’m scared to let possessions take over like that again.

Leave a Reply

